YWCA Welcomes New Junior Board Members

September 16, 2016

For more than 30 years, YWCA Central Alabama’s Junior Board members have made quite an impact on the lives of so many, especially the YW’s children.

The group recently welcomed nine new members who will help raise awareness about the YWCA’s programs and funds to support them. Joining the Junior Board this year are Julia Bevill, Yonti Brown, Megan Chenoweth, Martha Foster, Jessica Oliver, Breauna Peterson, Ann Watford, Ann Bailey White and Ginny Willings.

“We are thrilled to welcome these fabulous women,” said Annemarie Axon, the new Junior Board president. The YW does such important work and we are grateful for the energy this group will bring to the table.”

One of the main objectives of the Junior Board is to support KIDS Korner, the YW’s child development program for homeless children. Last year, the group raised $156,906 through the annual KIDS Korner Luncheon, providing vital funding for the nationally-accredited program. Junior Board members also hosted a Fall Festival for the children and treated the teachers to an appreciation lunch.

The annual Walk a Mile in Her Shoes® event is another important project of the Junior Board, and members recruit men to walk through Railroad Park in red high heels. The event is a light-hearted way to raise awareness about the very serious issue of domestic violence.

“Our Junior Board is a dynamic group of women who have such a passion for our mission,” YWCA CEO Yolanda Sullivan said. “We are so fortunate they are willing to share their time and their talents to benefit the women, children and families we serve.”

Jeris Gaston is president-elect of the group, while Taylor Cooper and Anne Lary will serve as co-chairs of the 2017 KIDS Korner Luncheon. Mary Elizabeth Roberson and Ann Thomas will serve as co-chairs of Walk a Mile, and Yawanna McDonald is the new mission liaison.

The YWCA is grateful for the service of those who recently rolled off the Junior Board, including Katie Boyd Britt, Dana Cockrell, Sheetal Cordry, Laura Sherling Dunning, Morgan Robinson, Jennifer Smith,Tracy Sproule, Kelly Taylor and Jenni Parker Tetloff.